Ah, clichés…

It’s so typical – I have become one of those people who updates their blog roughly once every eight months.  Ah well.

So, what have I done since last April?

I suppose the main thing is that I finished my coursework in June, and then passed my General Exam in October, which means I’m a Candidate now.  And that, in turn, means that I’m now wrestling with narrowing down my topic so that I can begin writing my dissertation proposal.  I know that it will have to do with efforts to democratize access to information, including large-scale digitization initiatives and early public libraries, but I’m still figuring out my specific line of attack.

More publicly, I have a few bits of professional travel coming up:

In February, I’ll be presenting my first piece of peer-reviewed work on my own actual research – a poster entitled “The Imagined User of ‘Universal’ Information Access Efforts: Ingrained Assumptions in Early American Public Libraries and Large-Scale Digitization Initiatives” – at the iConference in Urbana-Champaign.  I’ll also be making an extraordinarily brief swing through Chicago on the 6-7, twimc.

Then, in March, I’ll be going along with my advisor to Philadelphia, for a meeting about digital reference.  It’s being hosted by Drexel on the occasion of the IPL‘s 15th anniversary.  Should be interesting, both because of the topic itself and because this’ll be the first time I will have seen my advisor in his metier since he became my advisor.  I mean, he’s always flying around the country, but I usually don’t get to go with him. 🙂

Aside from that, the only other thing I thought I’d mention is that the UW iPhDs now have our own profile pages on the iSchool website, which is awesome.  Here’s mine – just disregard the terrible old photo.

Leave a Reply

