Much belated updates

2010 was a busy year…so busy, in fact, that I essentially forgot this site was here for the last 8 months of it. Now that it’s 2011, though, I thought I’d toss up a post updating whomever might pass by here about the things I’ve been working on lately. So…here goes:

Teaching

Last summer, I taught INFO 200 again, and this fall, I TA’ed it for the first time. It was strange to step back into the supporting role after leading the class twice, but it definitely gave me some good perspective on other parts of the class. This quarter I’m TA’ing in the online LIS program again, which I’m looking forward to, and then in spring I’ll be back to TA’ing 200 again. So, that’s my teaching life.

Publishing

Within the last year, I’ve started to get more out in my own area of research. Specifically, I presented at two conferences in the second half of 2010 (Internet, Politics, Policy 2010 in Oxford, and ASIS&T 2010 in Pittsburgh), and will present at another next month (iConference 2011, here in Seattle!). All of these have emerged from my dissertation work, comparing large-scale digitization initiatives to early American public libraries. I’m hoping that 2011 will bring more, especially as I begin to collect data on my case studies. These are the citations for the exiting ones though:

The Oxford paper was also accepted for publication in the journal Policy and Internet; it came out late last month (free access with site registration). Here’s that citation:

That article, coauthored with my advisor, Joe Janes, discusses the privacy implications of Google Book search through the lens of Helen Nissenbaum’s theory of privacy as contextual integrity, using public library privacy norms and legal structures as a baseline for comparison. (The day it came out, I was flattered to see this positive mention of it on James Grimmelmann’s blog, The Laboratorium, of which I am a regular reader – thanks Prof. Grimmelmann!)

Degree Progress

I hesitate to even write about this here, for fear of jinxing it, but…I’m working on my dissertation proposal right now, and I’m hoping to get a full draft of that done in the very near future, to defend within the next few months. So, fingers crossed, I should be able to start working on data collection later this spring – visiting some library archives, then later, interviewing some folks involved in the digitization projects.

~~~~~~

So, that’s about it. I hope this isn’t my first and last post of 2011 – but just in case it is, I’ll note that I do tend to keep the “About” page more up to date than the blog itself.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

